Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Live in Scheveningen 1958 (2018)

This post was published 5 years ago. Download links are most likely obsolete. If that's the case, try asking the uploader to re-upload.

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Live in Scheveningen 1958 (2018)

Album Preview
EAC Rip | FLAC (tracks+log+.cue) | 01:20:01 | 303 Mb
Jazz | Label: Fondamenta

Art Blakey had just turned thirty-nine. He was Bu to those who knew that late in the 1940s he had taken the name of Abdullah Ibn Buhaina. In 1954, he had co-founded the Jazz Messengers with pianist Horace Silver, but now he led the quintet single-handedly, identifying the most outstanding talents, mentoring them, taking them to the top. The group of course continued to expand until late in the 1980s to include other artists as talented as they were diverse such as Wayne Shorter, Clifford Brown, the Marsalis brothers and Keith Jarrett. But already in 1958, the ensemble was inspired, imbued with confidence, crowned with success, and most importantly, original. Pianist Bobby Timmons had just composed the emblematic Moanin and saxophonist Benny Golson, his famous Along Came Betty, songs that the Jazz Messengers interspersed with the compositions of their illustrious fellow musicians: Thelonious Monk, Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie.

CD 1
01. Introduction by Art Blakey
02. Moanin'
03. Announcement by Art Blakey
04. Along Came Betty
05. Announcement by Art Blakey
06. Evidence/Justice

CD 2
01. Just by Myself
02. Announcement by Art Blakey
03. I Remember Clifford
04. Announcement by Art Blakey
05. Now Is the Time
06. Announcement by Art Blakey
07. Whisper Not
08. Night in Tunisia

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Log in or Sign up
    to post a comment.