Ben Lamar Gay - Open Arms to Open Us (2021)

Ben Lamar Gay - Open Arms to Open Us (2021)

Album Preview
WEB FLAC (tracks) - 290 Mb | MP3 CBR 320 kbps - 106 Mb | 00:46:03
Jazz, Blues, R'n'B, Psychedelic | Label: International Anthem, Nonesuch Records

Ben LaMar Gay's Open Arms To Open Us was produced and recorded at International Anthem Studios in Chicago between March and June of 2021. Across sixteen tracks Gay fluently interweaves jazz, blues, ballads, R&B, raga, new music, nursery rhyme, tropicalia, two-step, hip-hop and beyond in a beaming expression of his signature omni-genre “Pan-Americana” brew. Alongside his own sizable toolkit of instruments (cornet, keyboards, synthesizers, flutes, percussions), Gay surrounds himself with steady bandmates (including Tommaso Moretti on drums, Matthew Davis on tuba, and Rob Frye on woodwinds), while also shining the spotlight on female artists from his cast of regular collaborators. Featured artists on the album include: OHMME singers Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart, bassist/vocalist/arranger Ayanna Woods, multi-disciplinary Rwandan artist Dorothée Munyaneza, poet A.Martinez, cellist Tomeka Reid, and vocalists Onye Ozuzu, Gira Dahnee, and Angel Bat Dawid. Gay says the album’s title is “a suggestion of a body movement that is used in many spiritual practices and is also a gesture that represents a type of understanding that leads to touch or a hug.” He also says, “Open Arms to Open Us deals with rhythm as an inheritance of information – sort of like DNA or RNA. Coping with the present-day bombardment of data and recycled ideologies from sources essentially fed by the creed ‘Destroy Them. Own the Earth,’ often leaves me with only one thing to look forward to: Rhythm.”

1. Sometimes I Forget How Summer Looks on You (feat. Ohmme) (03:27)
2. Hood Rich Happy (01:26)
3. Bang Melodically Bang (03:09)
4. Aunt Lola and the Quail (04:15)
5. Mestre Candeia's Denim Hat (01:53)
6. Oh Great Be The Lake (03:00)
7. I Be Loving Me Some Of You (02:07)
8. Nyuzura (feat. Dorothée Munyaneza) (03:26)
9. Slightly Before The Dawn (03:25)
10. Lean Back.Try Igbo (feat. Onye Ozuzu) (01:19)
11. Dress Me In New Love (01:53)
12. Touch. Don’t Scroll (feat. Ayanna Woods) (04:25)
13. I Once Carried A Blossom (feat. A.Martinez) (00:59)
14. In Tongues And In Droves (feat. Tomeka Reid) (05:20)
15. S’Phisticated Lady (feat. Gira Dahnee and Angel Bat Dawid) (01:35)
16. We Gon Win (04:18)

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Login or Register
    to post a comment.