Coloured Balls - Ball Power (50th Anniversary Vinyl) (1973/2023)

Coloured Balls - Ball Power (50th Anniversary Vinyl) (1973/2023)

Album Preview
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz - 910 Mb | WEB FLAC (tracks) - 255 Mb | MP3 CBR 320 kbps - 94 Mb | Front Cover | Time - 41:02 minutes
Blues Rock, Hard Rock, Psychedelic Rock | Label: Just Add Water

50th Anniversary Edition of this touchstone of Aussie Rock n Roll. This 1973 LP should need no introduction. Just in case it does, it's simply one of the finest albums to ever come out of Australia. COLOURED BALLS are the godfathers of Aussie punk, hard rock, psychedelic boogie, etc. They played too many different styles to be just any one thing. Lobby, Bobsie, Trevor, and Janis created something very special with this album and it sounds as fresh and vital as the date it was originally released.

One of the great progressive hard rock LPs of the era, Ball Power really had a lot going for it: great songs, inspirational playing, attitude to burn and an experimental edge that would have frightened the hell out of any lesser band. The overall excellence of Ball Power makes for quality listening all the way through.

The songs range from the crunching, melodic hard rock of ‘Flash’ and ‘Hey! What’s Your Name’ to the simple, raw rock’n’roll of ‘Mama Don’t Get Me Wrong’ and ‘Won’t You Make Up Your Mind’ (a proto-typical punk ball-tearer at a breathtakingly brief one minute and 32 seconds) and a raucous cover of the Jerry Lee Lewis standard ‘Whole Lotta Shakin’’. In between there are the sleazy blues of ‘Something New’ and ‘B.P.R.’ plus progressive, guitar-heavy monsters like ‘Human Being’ and ‘That’s What Mama Said’.
Package Contents

12" Black Vinyl • This pressing has been painstakingly sourced directly from the original 1973 quarter inch mix-down master tapes and sounds incredible. This has been an entirely analog production chain and hasn't been touched by a computer at any stage of the process. Hear Coloured Balls as nature intended.

01. Flash
02. Mama Don't You Get Me Wrong
03. Won't You Make Your Mind
04. Something New
05. B.P.R.
06. Human Being
07. Whole Lotta Shakin'
08. Hey What's Your Name
09. That's What Mama Said

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Log in or Sign up
    to post a comment.