Eos Guitar Quartet - El Alma de Paco (2021)

Eos Guitar Quartet - El Alma de Paco (2021)
Album Preview
WEB FLAC (tracks) - 340 Mb | MP3 CBR 320 kbps - 166 Mb | 01:12:15
Classical | Label: Solo Musica

The Spanish master guitarist Paco de Lucía, whose death anniversary will be celebrated for the seventh time in 2021, is the focus of the new album by the Eos Guitar Quartet (Julio Azcano, Marcel Ege, David Sautter, Michael Winkler). For the four musicians, his music, his innovative power and not least their personal contact with him were a constant source of inspiration.
As an expression of this great admiration, the Eos Guitar Quartet has now asked the three composers, Leo Brouwer, John McLaughlin and José Antonio Rodriguez, to write a work for the ensemble under the motto “Homage to Paco de Lucía”. The result is works that enrich the repertoire for guitar quartet in an outstanding way.

In the spirit of Paco, the Eos Guitar Quartet plays original compositions by Marcel Ege and David Sautter alongside three dances by Manuel de Falla. The singing of the legendary flamenco singer Carmen Linares and the subtle accompaniment of the percussionist Ricardo Espinosa give this recording a wonderful addition and enhancement.

"I am very happy to listen to the latest recording from the Eos Guitar Quartet, not only because of its dedication to the late great Paco de Lucia, but also because of the fine music in this recording.

I particularly enjoyed the artistic liberty the quartet took in recording the music from so many fine composers. The use of the Flamenco singing and percussion were integrated very well and with subtlety. I would like to congratulate the arrangers of the musical works for their excellent and sensitive work on the compositions.

The playing is not only outstanding, but they have achieved an atmosphere that is undeniably Hispanic and profoundly heartfelt towards Paco himself.

Paco de Lucia was such a great musician and human being, that the impact of his magnificent guitar playing is felt throughout the world: From the great American Jazz musicians, the great European classical musicians, to the great musicians of India. A unique artist who will be missed forever.

I feel honored to be amongst the other composers on the recording and wish The Eos Guitar Quartet much and continued success in their important musical works." (John McLaughlin)
1. EOS Guitar Quartet – El alma de Paco (10:59)
2. EOS Guitar Quartet, Carmen Linares & Ricardo Espinosa – Aixa, Fátima y Marién (After Lorca) (05:49)
3. EOS Guitar Quartet & Ricardo Espinosa – Medianoche (07:14)
4. EOS Guitar Quartet – El sombrero de tres picos (Excerpts): Danza de la molinera [Arr. G. Cresta for Guitar Quartet] (04:10)
5. EOS Guitar Quartet – El sombrero de tres picos (Excerpts): Danza de los vecinos [Arr. M. Pirktl for Guitar Quartet] (03:17)
6. EOS Guitar Quartet – La vida breve: Danza española No. 1 (Arr. G. Cresta for Guitar Quartet) (03:35)
7. EOS Guitar Quartet – El quejío del poeta duende: I. Fandango de las cositas buenas (08:28)
8. EOS Guitar Quartet – El quejío del poeta duende: II. Quejío del poeta duende (04:13)
9. EOS Guitar Quartet – El quejío del poeta duende: III. El trébol de cuatro hojas (05:54)
10. EOS Guitar Quartet & Ricardo Espinosa – El alba (06:45)
11. EOS Guitar Quartet, Ricardo Espinosa & Carmen Linares – Paquiro (After Lorca) (08:00)
12. EOS Guitar Quartet & Ricardo Espinosa – Soñando con el sonido (Arr. J. Azcano for Guitar Quartet & Percussion) (03:45)

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Login or Register
    to post a comment.