Paula Cole - Lo (2024)

Paula Cole - Lo (2024)

Album Preview
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz - 991 Mb | WEB FLAC (tracks) - 286 Mb | MP3 CBR 320 kbps - 114 Mb | 00:49:29
Folk, Pop, Vocal Jazz | Label: 675 Records

Grammy-winning singer-songwriter and producer Paula Cole will release Lo, her first collection of entirely new, original songs in nearly a decade, on March 1, 2024. Today, Paula shares the first single from the album, "The Replacements & Dinosaur Jr.” - a heartfelt tribute to her friend and artistic mentor, Mark Hutchins, who left us too soon, aged 51. The song pays homage to Hutchins’ musical influences, spanning from The Replacements and Dinosaur Jr. to The Beatles, XTC, Daniel Lanois, and A Tribe Called Quest. This song, like the forthcoming album, beautifully blends vulnerability with joy, staying true to Paula's signature authentic and soul-stirring style.

Paula recalls, "Mark exploded my mind. I literally heard the Beatles first with Mark. Also The Replacements, Dinosaur Jr., A Tribe Called Quest, The Pixies, and a lot of gorgeous early-90’s alternative music folks might not associate with me. We connected in our love for Peter Gabriel’s music. I was mourning, honoring, celebrating Mark when I wrote this. I wanted to acknowledge him and his lasting influence in my life. Mark should have had an enormous career. I’m so grateful. The song needed to be fun, like he was."

The album features longtime Cole collaborator Jay Bellerose (Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, Bonnie Raitt, Elton John) on drums, plus Ross Gallagher (Joe Henry, Marc Ribot) on upright bass, Chris Bruce (Meshell Ndegeocello, Bettye LaVette, Tom Waits) on guitar, and Rich Hinman (Maren Morris, Sara Bareilles) on pedal steel and guitar. The album was produced by Cole and recorded at The Village recording studio in Los Angeles by nine time Grammy-winning engineer, Mike Piersante.

1. Follow The Moon (5:01)
2. The Replacements & Dinosaur Jr (2:55)
3. take it take it take it (2:24)
4. Invisible Armor (5:33)
5. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday (3:23)
6. Green Eyes Crying (4:39)
7. Calling All Saviors (4:52)
8. Golden Apples of the Sun/Fahrenheit 451 (4:44)
9. Letter from a Quarry Miner (4:28)
10. Wildflower (6:34)
11. Flying Home (4:56)

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Log in or Sign up
    to post a comment.