Neil Diamond - Hot August Night (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2012)

Neil Diamond - Hot August Night (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2012)

Album Preview
FLAC (tracks), Lossless / Mp3 320 kbps | 1:59:30 | 853 / 310 Mb
Folk Rock, Classic Rock, Discography and Box Sets

This is the ultimate Neil Diamond record. Not necessarily the best -- he's at his most appealing crafting in the studio -- but certainly the ultimate, capturing all the kitsch and glitz of Neil Diamond, the showman. And that also means that it's not just loaded with flair, but with filler, songs like "Porcupine Pie," "Soggy Pretzels," and "And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind" -- attempts to write grand, sweeping epics that collapse under their own weight. Still, that's part of the charm of Diamond and while it can sound unbearable on studio albums, it makes some sense here, surrounded by his pomp and circumstance. That spectacle is the great thing about the record, since it inflates not just his great songs, it gives the weaker moments character. At 20-plus tracks in its original release and various reissues over the years, this does wind up being a little much, but it nevertheless is the one record for casual Neil fans (after the hits collections), since it shows Diamond the icon in full glory.
CD 1
01. Prologue 3:08
02. Crunchy Granola Suite 4:26
03. Done Too Soon 3:22
04. Dialogue 1:23
05. Solitary Man 3:14
06. Cherry Cherry 4:43
07. Sweet Caroline 4:06
08 Porcupine Pie 1:51
09. You're So Sweet 2:18
10. Red Red Wine 4:19
11. Soggy Pretzels 2:57
12. Gitchy Goomy 3:49
13. And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind 4:22
14. I Think It's Going To Rain Tod 4:12
15. Shilo 3:29
16. Modern Day Version Of Love 3:31
17. Girl You'll Be A Woman Soon 2:48
18. Walk On Water 3:06
19. Kentucky Woman 1:51
20. Stones 3:43
21. Musician Intros 7:25

CD 2
01. Play Me 4:45
02. Canta Libre 5:27
03. Morningside 5:36
04. Song Sung Blue 4:53
05. Cracklin' Rosie 2:45
06. Holly Holy 6:19
07. I Am...I Said 6:09
08. Soolaimon/Brother Love's Travelling Salvation Show 9:36

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Log in or Sign up
    to post a comment.