Peter Rowan - Calling You From My Mountain (2022) Hi-Res

Peter Rowan - Calling You From My Mountain (2022) Hi-Res

Album Preview
FLAC (tracks), Lossless[24bit-44kHz] | 46:56 | 499 Mb

For over six decades, GRAMMY-award winning artist Peter Rowan has been at the forefront of acoustic American music, inspiring generations of new musicians and working creatively with the roots of bluegrass, newgrass, Americana, country rock, jazz, even reggae, Hawaiian, and Tejano music.
A relentlessly curious, brilliant songwriter, Rowan's had the kind of career that would give him ample opportunity to kick back and rest on his laurels now, but his new album, 'Calling You From My Mountain', shows that Rowan's voice is as vital as ever, fueled by the history of our great traditions and excited for their future. Guest spots on the album from friends like Billy Strings, Molly Tuttle, Shawn Camp, Lindsay Lou, and Mark Howard, not to mention Rowan's multi-generational band, show that Rowan's inspiration transcends age. Though the genesis for Rowan's new album came from Hank Williams' Luke the Drifter personality and Rowan's idea of writing new songs for this character, he quickly spun in other connections, like his longtime interest in Tibetan music and his Buddhist beliefs and practices, or his love of other American roots legends like Ramblin' Jack Elliott, Lightnin' Hopkins, Guy Clark, Bill Monroe, and Tex Logan (all of whom Rowan's played and performed with). Throughout, the music sounds like Rowan himself, a modern day California dharma bum, a man as nourished by a metaphysical interest in the mysteries of the physical universe as he is by the intricacies of handcrafted music making.
1. New York Town (2:38)
2. Veil of Deja Blue (3:45)
3. Come Along Jody (2:53)
4. Little Joe (2:21)
5. "The Song That Made Hank Williams Dance" (3:40)
6. A Winning Hand (4:08)
7. From My Mountain (Calling You) (4:52)
8. Frog on the Lilly Pad (2:21)
9. The Red, The White and The Blue (4:52)
10. Light At the End of the World (2:19)
11. Penitentiary Blues (Big Brazos) (3:40)
12. Dream of Heaven (3:45)
13. Freedom Trilogy (5:46)

Comments on this post are closed.

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies