Roderick Williams & Susie Allan - Somervell: Maud & A Shropshire Lad (2020)

Roderick Williams & Susie Allan - Somervell: Maud & A Shropshire Lad (2020)
Album Preview
FLAC (tracks), Lossless | 01:02:26 | 225 Mb
Classical, Instrumental

English song cycles by Sir Arthur Somervell Maud and A Shropshire Lad from the acclaimed partnership of baritone Roderick Williams and pianist Susie Allan. Hailed as the English Schumann for his mastery of song setting, song cycles in particular, Somervells music is marked by a distinctive blend of lyricism and harmony that makes itself indelibly felt in these two seminal works of the English song repertoire. His first cycle, Maud, setting 13 poems from Alfred, Lord Tennysons dark monodrama, was first performed in 1899 at the height of a fashion for recitals of songs sung in English. An intense, impassioned portrayal of infatuation, it is marked by remarkably eloquent and revealing relationships between voice and text, and voice and piano. Composed in 1904, the 10 poems from A.E. Housmans A Shropshire Lad portray a young man wistfully contemplating nature, life and love at the age of 20 before following him through a life full of incident, the horror of the First World War and growing self-awareness. It prompted from Somervell texturally rich and varied music shot through with an aching lyricism all the more powerful and potent for its folk song-like simplicity and directness. Completing the recital are the enchanting, ever-popular lullaby Shepherds Cradle Song and wistful tale of childhood sweethearts with texts by Edgar Allan Poe, A Kingdom by the Sea.
01. Maud No. 1, I Hate the Dreadful Hollow
02. Maud No. 2, A Voice by the Cedar Tree
03. Maud No. 3, She Came to the Village Church
04. Maud No. 4, O Let the Solid Ground
05. Maud No. 5, Birds in the High Hall Garden
06. Maud No. 6, Maud Has a Garden
07. Maud No. 7, Go Not, Happy Day
08. Maud No. 8, I Have Led Her Home
09. Maud No. 9, Come Into the Garden, Maud
10. Maud No. 10, The Fault Was Mine
11. Maud No. 11, Dead, Long Dead
12. Maud No. 12, O That 'Twere Possible
13. Maud No. 13, My Life Has Crept so Long
14. A Kingdom by the Sea
15. A Shropshire Lad No. 1, Loveliest of Trees
16. A Shropshire Lad No. 2, When I Was One-and-Twenty
17. A Shropshire Lad No. 3, There Pass the Careless People
18. A Shropshire Lad No. 4, In Summer-Time on Bredon
19. A Shropshire Lad No. 5, The Street Sounds to a Soldier's Tread
20. A Shropshire Lad No. 6, On the Idle Hill of Summer
21. A Shropshire Lad No. 7, White in the Moon the Long Road Lies
22. A Shropshire Lad No. 8, Think No More, Lad
23. A Shropshire Lad No. 9, Into My Heart an Air That Kills
24. A Shropshire Lad No. 10, The Lads in Their Hundreds, to Ludlow Come In for the Fair
25. Shepherd's Cradle Song

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Login or Register
    to post a comment.

    Advanced Search