Nancy Wilson - Anthology (2000) (Remastered) FLAC/MP3

This post was published 3 years ago. Download links are most likely obsolete.
If that's the case, try asking the author to reupload.

Nancy Wilson - Anthology (2000)

Album preview
FLAC (tracks +log) MP3 320 kbps | 1h 34 min | Genre: Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop | Label: Capitol Records | 594 MB / 228 MB

Wilson is a vexing artist to summarize with a best-of compilation, due both to her versatility and her prolific discography. This two-set CD concentrates on her pop- and R&B-influenced recordings for Capitol in the 1960s and '70s. While that means that her jazziest and most standard-inclined sides are relatively lightly represented (although not ignored), it does mean that this is the material most likely to be familiar to the general audience. In truth the soul influence is quite light; this is really pop material, not R&B, soul, or rock, even as it might show some traces of those genres (as well as jazz and cabaret). As a whole, this easy-listening soul music was light fare, but Wilson was probably better at it (and certainly more successful at it) than anyone else. The first disc, covering 1962-1970, is the better of the pair, with the big 1964 hit "(You Don't Know) How Glad I Am" and a couple of nice non-LP singles in 1963's bluesy "Tell the Truth" and 1965's "Where Does That Leave Me." Her reading of Stevie Wonder's "Uptight" is actually respectable, and some of her better mid-'60s singles show the influence of New York uptown soul production. The second disc charts the decline of pop-soul as a whole, even if it does lead off with a couple of 1970 Gamble-Huff-affiliated tracks. Much of the rest marks Wilson as one of the mothers of adult contemporary music, which is not the highest badge of honor one can bear. Is this the anthology you should have if you only get one Wilson collection? If your tastes run to pop rather than jazz, it probably is, though it should be cautioned that it's uneven and does not reflect the full scope of her repertoire.

Disc 1 (41:27)
1. Save Your Love For Me (02:43)
2. When Did You Leave Heaven (02:54)
3. Guess Who I Saw Today (05:19)
4. Tell Me The Truth (02:32)
5. (You Don't Know) How Glad I Am (02:37)
6. I Want To Be With You (02:06)
7. Don't Come Running Back To Me (02:11)
8. Where Does That Leave Me (02:30)
9. You've Got Your Troubles (02:26)
10. Uptight (Everything's Alright) (01:58)
11. Ten Years Of Tears (02:31)
12. Face It Girl, It's Over (03:09)
13. Peace Of Mind (02:39)
14. You'd Better Go (02:30)
15. Can't Take My Eyes Off You (03:22)

Disc 2 (52:57)
1. Now I'm A Woman (02:50)
2. Joe (02:27)
3. I'll Get Along Somehow (05:30)
4. The Greatest Performance Of My Life (03:21)
5. Don't Misunderstand (03:09)
6. We Can Make It Baby (02:58)
7. Streetrunner (03:23)
8. You're As Right As Rain (03:08)
9. All In Love Is Fair (04:03)
10. Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight (03:23)
11. Come Get To This (03:02)
12. This Mother's Daughter (03:57)
13. Love Has Smiled On Us (03:52)
14. I've Never Been To Me (03:50)
15. Life, Love, And Harmony (04:04)

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Login or Register
    to post a comment.