Patti Page - The Complete Columbia Singles (1962-1970) (Remastered) (2014)

Patti Page - The Complete Columbia Singles (1962-1970) (Remastered) (2014)

Album preview
FLAC (tracks) - 517 MB | MP3 320 kbps - 312 MB
2h 9 min | Jazz, Pop, Ballad, Vocal, Easy Listening | Label: Legacy Recordings

With the passing of Patti Page on New Year's Day of this year just weeks before she was scheduled to receive the prestigious Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award America lost one of its most distinctive and distinguished musical voices, the #1-selling female artist of the '50s and a remarkably versatile singer equally at home in the pop and country genres. Virtually all Page retrospectives have concentrated on her '50s recordings for the Mercury label, but she had a very successful second act to her career while recording during the '60s for the Columbia label, where she scored a dozen chart hits.

Now, to honor her singular talent and enduring recording legacy, Real Gone Music is training its collector's eye on Patti Page's Columbia recordings with The Complete Columbia Singles 1962-1970, which includes all 51 single sides she released on the Columbia label, featuring all 12 of the aforementioned hits (most prominently "Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte," here in its hit single and bonus German version) and many impossible-to-find non-album tracks previously only available on 45 rpm vinyl. Lifelong Page fan and friend Alan Eichler contributes liner notes, and the booklet offers plenty of photos, including some from the family's private archive, with remastering at Sony's own Battery Studios. Any admirer of Patti Page will find much to cherish here.

CD 1
01. Pretty Boy Lonely
02. Just a Simple Melody
03. Say Wonderful Things
04. I Knew I Would See Him Again
05. Nobody
06. Maybe He'll Come Back to Me
07. Love Letters
08. If and When
09. I Adore You
10. I Wonder, I Wonder, I Wonder
11. Drive In Movie
12. I'd Rather Be Sorry (Than Safe All Alone)
13. Drina (Little Soldier Boy)
14. Promises
15. Days of the Waltz
16. Don't You Pass Me By
17. Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte
18. Longing to Hold You Again
19. You Can't Be True, Dear
20. Who's Gonna Shoe My Pretty Little Feet
21. Ribbons and Roses
22. That's What I Tell Them
23. Happy Birthday, Jesus (A Child's Prayer)
24. Christmas Bells
25. Custody
26. Till You Come Back to Me

CD 2
01. Can I Trust You? (Lo Ti Daró Di Piú) (Single Version)
02. In This Day and Age
03. Almost Persuaded (Single Version)
04. It's the World Outside (Single Version)
05. The Wishing Doll (Single Version)
06. Music and Memories (Single Version)
07. Wish Me a Rainbow (Single Version)
08. This is the Sunday
09. Walkin' - Just Walkin' (Single Version)
10. Same Old You
11. Pretty Bluebird (Single Version)
12. All the Time
13. Gentle On My Mind
14. Excuse Me
15. Little Green Apples
16. This House
17. Stand By Your Man (Single Version)
18. Red Summer Roses (Single Version)
19. The Love Song
20. A Mighty Fortress is Our Love
21. Boy from the Country
22. You Don't Need a Heart
23. I Wish I Had a Mommy Like You
24. He'll Never Take the Place of You
25. Hush, Hush Sweet Charlotte (German Version)

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Log in or Sign up
    to post a comment.