The Faces (The Small Faces) - Five Guys Walk Into A Bar (4CD Box Set), 2004, MP3

This post was published 3 years ago. Download links are most likely obsolete.
If that's the case, try asking the author to reupload.

The Faces (The Small Faces) - Five Guys Walk Into A Bar (4CD Box Set), 2004, MP3

Album Preview
2004 | Rock, blues rock
MP3 320 Kbps | 1.18 Gb


Product Description
From 1969 to 1975 the Faces - Rod Stewart, Ian McLagan, Ron Wood, Ronnie Lane, and Kenney Jones - played their loose and joyful blues and soul-inflected rock 'n' roll with reckless abandon, consummate skill, and immeasurable charm. For those few years they were arguably the greatest band on the planet, and their influence has resonated ever since through the music of countless acts, from the Sex Pistols to The Replacements to The Black Crowes, and on and on. After the Faces dissolved in 1975, Stewart went on to solo superstardom, Wood to the Stones, Jones to The Who, McLagan to world - class session work and his own recordings, and Lane to acclaimed solo projects before he succumbed to multiple sclerosis in 1997. Greater than the sum of its parts, the Faces made now - immortal music for which there will never, ever be a last call.

England's Faces (1970-1975) wound up playing stadiums, but they always had a compact, pub-band feel. They were proud boozers, tuning up wasn't a major obsession, and Rod Stewart (in pre-disco prime) always sounded like he'd sung himself hoarse the night before. They kept the mood light, but ensemble work was deceptively tight, thanks to drummer Kenney Jones (later Keith Moon's replacement in the Who) and guitarist Ron Wood (post-Jeff Beck, pre-Stones), who'd switch between raunchy lead and raunchy rhythm roles between beats. Wood's blues-drenched slide work snuffed most of his rock competition, and helped define the band's wiry sound. But Faces offered more than teapot blues. Tuneful bassist Ronnie Lane's sweet voice and countryish melodies--think "Ooh La La," revived as the movie Rushmore's closing theme--both lightened and deepened the texture. Keyboardist Ian McLagan picked and sequenced 67 tracks, programming them out of chronological order, to flow like concert sets. Included are abundant rarities--out-takes, b-sides, rehearsals, BBC-broadcast excerpts--including live takes of songs Faces recorded under Stewart's name, like "Gasoline Alley" and "Maggie May." (A few tunes are heard in live and studio versions.) It's a very good selection of music that wears remarkably well. --Kevin Whitehead

01. Flying
02. On The Beach
03. Too Bad
04. If I'm On The Late Side
05. Debris
06. Jealous Guy
07. Evil (Rehearsal)
08. As Long As You Tell Him
09. Maggie May (Live / BBC)
10. Cindy Incidentally (Alternate Mix)
11. Maybe I'm Amazed (Live / BBC)
12. Insurance
13. I Came Looking For You (Rehearsal)
14. Last Orders Please
15. Wyndlesham Bay (Jodie)
16. I Can Feel The Fire (Live)
17. Tonight's Number
18. Come See Me Baby (The Cheater)

01. Pool Hall Richard
02. You're My Girl (I Don't Want To Discuss It) (Live / BBC)
03. Glad And Sorry
04. Shake, Shudder, Shiver (Rehearsal)
05. Miss Judy's Farm (Live / BBC)
06. Richmond
07. That's All You Need
08. Rear Wheel Skid
09. Maybe I'm Amazed
10. (If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want To Be Right
11. Take A Look At The Guy (Live)
12. Flags And Banners
13. Bad 'N' Ruin (Live / BBC)
14. Around The Plynth
15. Sweet Lady Mary
16. Had Me A Real Good Time
17. Cut Across Shorty (Live / BBC)

01. You're So Rude
02. (I Know) I'm Losing You (Live / BBC)
03. Love Lives Here
04. I'd Rather Go Blind (Live)
05. Hi-Heel Sneakers / Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
06. Gettin' Hungry
07. Silicone Grown
08. Oh Lord I'm Browned Off
09. Just Another Honky
10. Open To Ideas
11. Skewiff (Mend The Fuse)
12. Too Bad (Live)
13. Rock
14. Angel (Live / BBC)
15. Stay With Me (Live / BBC)
16. Ooh La La

01. The Stealer (Live / BBC)
02. Around The Plynth / Gasoline Alley
03. You Can Make Me Dance, Sing Or Anything
04. I Wish It Would Rain (Live)
05. Miss Judy's Farm (Live / BBC)
06. Love In Vain (Live / BBC)
07. My Fault (Live / BBC)
08. I Feel So Good (Rehearsal)
09. Miss Judy's Farm
10. Three Button Hand Me Down
11. Cindy Incidentally
12. Borstal Boys
13. Flying (Live / BBC)
14. Bad 'N' Ruin
15. Dishevelment Blues
16. Stay With Me


No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Login or Register
    to post a comment.