Marianne Faithfull - Live At The BBC (2008)

This post was published 3 years ago. Download links are most likely obsolete.
If that's the case, try asking the author to reupload.

Marianne Faithfull - Live At The BBC (2008)

Album Preview
WEB | FLAC (tracks) - 157 MB | 41:37
Genre: Pop/Rock | Label: Decca

This compilation which boasts fine sound features 15 tracks Marianne Faithfull recorded for the BBC in 1965 and 1966 (including two versions of one of the songs, "Go Away from My World"); also included are five brief between-song interviews that give listeners a chance to hear her poshly accented, articulate speech. This was the era, of course, in which Faithfull was still a fairly high-voiced pop-folk singer, and not the far earthier one she'd become when she emerged with a much deeper and more gravelly voice upon her late-'70s comeback. While it's a little disappointing there aren't more surprises – every one of these songs was also recorded on her mid-'60s studio releases – it does, as one would expect, afford listeners the chance to hear her do these songs in somewhat less elaborate arrangements than the versions that found official release at the time. On occasion, this can work to Faithfull's advantage; her cover of the Beatles' "Yesterday," not one of the highlights among her 1960s singles releases, is stripped of its too-fussy arrangement so that she's accompanied only by guitar. That's from a December 1965 session on which guitarist Jon Mark is the only backup musician, and those three songs are by far the folkiest of this lot. Still, the other sessions go down well, too, including not only the hits "As Tears Go By," "Come and Stay with Me," "This Little Bird," and "Summer Nights," but also some relatively unheralded highlights of her early repertoire like the brooding "The Sha La La Song" and "Tomorrow's Calling." Faithfull's early British Invasion-era work is generally underrated, and this collection makes for a worthwhile addendum to her discography that some listeners might find more dignified and less dated in some respects than her more gushily produced studio records.

Track List:

01. Can't You Hear My Heartbeat
02. Interview / Come And Stay With Me
03. In My Time Of Sorrow
04. Go Away From My World
05. The Sha La La Song
06. Interview / This Little Bird
07. Go Away From My World
08. Paris Bells
09. Interview / Summer Nights
10. Interview / Lullaby
11. The Last Thing On My Mind
12. Yesterday
13. As Tears Go By
14. Cockleshells
15. Interview / Tomorrow's Calling

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Login or Register
    to post a comment.