Sia - Best Of... (2012)

Sia - Best Of... (2012)
Album Preview
EAC | FLAC (tracks+.cue, log) - 527 MB | 01:11:03
Genre: Pop, Electronic | Label: Inertia | Catalog: MPRCDAUS3

Best Of…, also referred to as Sia: Best Of…, is the first greatest hits album by Australian singer-songwriter Sia, released in Australia on 30 March 2012 through the Sydney-based independent record label Inertia.[2] The compilation includes tracks from four of her previous studio albums: Healing Is Difficult (2001), Colour the Small One (2004), Some People Have Real Problems, (2008) and We Are Born (2010). Also included are two tracks featuring Sia as a vocalist ("Destiny" by Zero 7 and "Titanium" by David Guetta), "My Love" from The Twilight Saga: Eclipse film soundtrack, plus a remixed version of "Buttons" by Brazilian rock band CSS.
Critical reception of the compilation album was positive overall; many reviewers appreciated the album in its entirety but criticized select tracks. The AU Review's Robert Lyon awarded the album a score of 8.2 on a 10-point scale. Lyon thought "Clap Your Hands" began the album "brilliantly" and complimented additional individual tracks, but noted the compilation offered no previously unreleased material and that the bonus DVD was only available through select retailers. Mikey Cahill of News Limited awarded the album four points on a five-point scale. He wrote listeners have the ability to "visualise Sia's animated exterior singing each note loud and proud" and summarized the album in one word: "respectable". Freya Davies of ArtsHub suggested "Bring Night" would have been a better opening track. Davies criticized select tracks, such as "Destiny" and "Day Too Soon" due to Sia's "inarticulate" singing, but also complimented faster tempo songs which highlighted her "vocal strength" ("Titanium" and "Buttons"). Davies concluded: "Sia's ability to combine cult and popular appeal is successfully demonstrated by the strength of this compilation album. Its weaknesses are momentary; overall, it is a fun salute to the past 15 years and a respectable look to the future."
Scott-Patrick Mitchell of Out in Perth, an LGBT publication based in Perth, Western Australia, appreciated an album of Sia highlights and wrote that "Bring Night", "Buttons" and "The Girl You Lost to Cocaine" "[sparkle] like supernovas". Rabbit Hole Urban Music's Steve Smart awarded the compilation four out of five stars. Smart thought the album was long but inclusive of many genres; he called the production "super smooth… classy but not edgeless". Rave Magazine's Alasdair Duncan also rated Best Of… four out of five stars and complimented Sia's body of work. Duncan thought the compilation had a "thrown-together quality" but called the music "top-notch". Nina Bertok of Rip It Up, an Adelaide street press magazine, called the album a collection of "tear-jerking ballads… pop nuggets… dance bangers" and "quirkier numbers". Bertok recommended the CSS remix of "Buttons" and awarded the compilation three out of five stars. One reviewer from the Sydney Star Observer wrote that "Breathe Me" stands as Sia's best song but thought her songs "Don't Bring Me Down" and "I'm in Here" should have been included on the album.
Track List:

01. Sia - Clap Your Hands
02. Sia - The Girl You Lost To Cocaine
03. Zero 7 - Destiny (feat. Sia)
04. Sia - Butttons
05. Sia - Day Too Soon
06. Sia - Numb
07. Sia - Where I Belong
08. Sia - Breathe Me
09. Sia - Sweet Potato
10. Sia - Bring Night
11. Sia - My Love
12. David Guetta - Titanium (feat. Sia)
13. Sia - You’ve Changed
14. Sia - I Got To Sleep
15. Sia - The Fight
16. Sia - Soon We’ll Be Found
17. Sia - Taken For Granted
18. Sia - Buttons (CSS Mix)
Related files

No comments have been posted yet. Please feel free to comment first!

    Load more replies

    Join the conversation!

    Login or Register
    to post a comment.

    Advanced Search